Gluten Free Bread

I recently started reading The Londoner, which is a blog written by a woman, Rosie, who lives in, you guessed it, London!

For anyone who knows me, you know that I am minorly (or majorly) obsessed with anything and anything British. Her blog posts are filled with wonderful sites and fantastic looking eats!

She recently posted a recipe for gluten-free, low carb bread. And I love bread, so I figured I’d give it a try, as it seemed pretty easy.

I made my long-time friend (seriously, 11 1/2 years…) and soon to be room mate, Kristen help me. As I’m a terrible baker, and she’s fantastic.

For this recipe, you need:

4 eggs

1 cup of flax meal ( I used ground flax seed)

3 tbsp water

1/2 cup ground almonds (I got slivered almonds and ground them in the coffee grinder)

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1 loaf tin

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400F

DSC_0044

Crack the eggs into a bowl, add the water

DSC_0046

Beat the eggs

DSC_0048

In a separate bowl, combine flax, almonds, baking powder and salt. Toss it all together.

DSC_0051

Combine

DSC_0053

Mix

DSC_0054

Pour into the tin and Bake for 20-25 minutes (I recommend 25 minutes!)

DSC_0055

Beautiful!

DSC_0058

It got a bit stuck….

DSC_0061

We made a lovely bruschetta with it! And ate this and Parmesan Chicken!

This is definitely not a typical bread texture, Kristen remarked that it was along the lines of corn bread, but it was good! I’ll definitely be giving it another try!

Leave a Reply

